Olive Oil or Butter?

I had read a lot about using olive oil in place of butter or vice versa but recently tried it and I actually liked the result I got from using olive oil as compared to the one I got from using butter. 😀

IMG_5662editblog

I had posted regarding the Red Velvet Cake. I decided to use the same recipe by Paula Deen like I used before but as I was arranging my ingredients I realized I had no butter!

*cues dramatic gasp*

Yes! But what I did have was olive oil and because I had made up my mind to bake a cake; I decided to use it instead of butter and the result was absolutely lovely!

The cake was moist and delicious. Actually, more moist than the one baked with using butter! It also kept fresh for quite some days and did not harden in the fridge.

IMG_5633editblog

So, who is the winner?

We cannot really pick a winner from the two because both are very different in every way but in short; there is no need to be afraid if you want to play around with them because you might end up with more delicious product as a result! 😀

Just keep in mind the change in ratio that should be taken care of as mentioned by olive oil expert and cookbook author Carol Firenze;

Butter                    Olive Oil

1 teaspoon            ¾ teaspoon
1 tablespoon         2 ¼ teaspoons
¼ cup                     3 tablespoons
1/3 cup                    ¼ cup
½ cup                    ¼ cup + 2 tablespoons
2/3 cup                   ½ cup
¾ cup                    ½ cup + 1 tablespoon
1 cup                       ¾ cup

To be honest; I didn’t use this ratio. I just went with intuition instead 🙈 but I think it will be better to keep this mind. 😇 All up to you. IMG_5656editblog

Would like to end this post with wishing you all Happy Baking and a tip from Lisa Loeb;

“When someone asks if you’d like cake or pie, why not say you want cake and pie?”

giphy

Peace. Meet you all in my next post. ❤

Leave a Reply

